In progress: Matryoshka fridge magnet plushie & Tea Bag plushie

This is a prototype I made of a Matryoshka, for a line of fridge magnet plushies that I’m working on. The proportions need to be worked out some more before the design is finalized. Those beady eyes make me laugh, but I kinda like them. 😛 I chose the Matryoshka because I love the simplified design. My Mom always had a set of wooden Russian Nesting Dolls somewhere in the house, so they are a very familliar object to me. Kokeshi & Daruma (both Japanese wooden dolls), are also on the same level of awesome as Matryoshka’s are, but I decided to go with the Russian influence this time. (If this isn’t the best bottle design concept, then I seriously don’t know what is!)

Here is the Matryoshka infront of a page of sketches I did. As you can see, I’m still thinking about that tea bag plushie, too! (After this pic was taken, my kitty batted the Matryoskha around for a while, lol.)

I haven’t posted this sketch here yet, and I think now’s the time. I want to eventually make a tea bag plushie, too! I think it could be cute on its own, or as a fridge magnet plushie. I was raised on tea, and drink probably more than I should, so the tea bag is very much a part of my everyday life! ^_^ I think it’s a natural inspiration.

Anyways, that’s a little sneak peek at what’s to come. I’ll post the finalized designs when they’re ready. ^_^

3 thoughts on “In progress: Matryoshka fridge magnet plushie & Tea Bag plushie

  1. Emmy, once again you’ve come up with such interesting, unique designs! Your updated Matrooshka’s are so whimsical….what a great idea! Your grandmother loved Matrooshka dolls too and she brought one home from the Soviet Union in 1961 when she went there to visit their schools for the Deaf and for special needs children. She sent me to a summer camp in Oakville, Ontario run by Ukrainians and their gift shop had lots of Matrooshkas. I loved them, but my “tuck” money wasn’t enough to buy one…..I had to wait! lol! I’m glad that you like them too!!
    That tea bag plushie is wild. Hey, your dad is now addicted to PC Chai tea!
    Your sketches are wonderful….I love those sketches of the deer and I think it’s a great idea to post them on your site! Keep up the great work!

  2. Brigitte ~ Thanks so much! ♥

    Flora ~ Thanks! Matryoshkas are wonderful, aren’t they! It’s interesting that our family seems drawn to them. 🙂 I love their design. (I really want that Matryoshka vodka bottle I linked to above!)

    Hahaha… yay for Dad! Chair Tea is the best!

    Thanks Mom! ♥♥♥

Leave a comment