Urban Vinyl: Android custom ‘Flow’

Flow is an Android custom who was commissioned by an Android collector. The collector allowed me to have free-range of whatever I wanted to do with this custom. As an artist, having free-range is wonderful, however I wanted to create something with a specific theme. I wanted it to have meaning. I named this custom ‘flow’ and gave him a water theme, and I will explain why….

As my time here in Spain is coming to an end (I finished my 8-month contract last week), I thought about my experiences and what has lead me to this moment. My career choice is different than the average person because I don’t know what country I’ll be living in next year, where I’ll be working, or who I will meet. It can be very stressful for someone who is used to (and relies on) stability. As much as it is very exciting, it takes time to get used to the rhythm of this lifestyle. There are blissful moments and moments when I feel like my world is caving in. I have learned a lot of things, but one of the best lessons I’ve learned is it is important to be like water and go with the flow. Life will present many obstacles, challenges and also opportunities. It is important to fight for what you want, but it is equally as important to let things go, and see what surprises life has in store.

“Be like water making its way through cracks. Do not be assertive, but adjust to the object, and you shall find a way around or through it. If nothing within you stays rigid, outward things will disclose themselves.

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.”

— Bruce Lee

Leave a Reply

