Art Show: Fantastic Heroes – pieces by Emily Bee

FANTASTIC HEROES
Vinyl, Paintings, Sculpture, Plush and Prints by Emily Bee
at The Trace Gallery, Zürich, Switzerland

If you are interested in purchasing a piece from ‘FANTASTIC HEROES’, please contact Regina Schibli at The Trace Gallery by phone (+41 78 684 30 64) or by email (regina@thetrace.ch) for availability.  Prices are all in CHF (Swiss Francs). An international currency converter can be found here.

Check out the pieces below…

↓  ↓  ↓  ↓  ↓

FANTASTIC HEROES

In this body of work I have explored the feelings of loss and heartache. Some of these pieces were very emotional for me to make, often drawing upon memories that I had buried deep within myself. It is said a picture can say a thousand words, however, I think that a single word can have immense power on its own.. it can make or break someone. I tried to incorporate powerful messages through typography onto my work. I also like playing with duality, which is explored in some of the vinyl, canvasses and plush pieces — two separate works of art that are united — or separated — by a theme. Memories of my own heartbreak were difficult to face again, and at times I had nightmares by reliving certain events in order to create these pieces. But I believe as an artist, we should all feel something when creating our work, whether it be happy, sad, angry, etc. I think only in this way can we really translate the art we feel inside to the art we create for the world to see. I have dubbed this my ‘Farewell’ series. I hope you enjoy it!

↓  ↓  ↓  ↓  ↓

VINYL

Sweet + Sorrow
Sweet / acrylic on plastic / 25 x 14 cm
 / 290 CHF SOLD
Sorrow / acrylic on plastic / 21 x 14 cm
 / 290 CHF

Sweet and Sorrow were inspired by William Shakespeare’s ‘Romeo + Juliet’. At one point in the play Juliet says goodbye to Romeo with the famous quote: ‘Parting is such sweet sorrow.’ This oxymoron combines contradictory ideas of pleasure + pain. Saying goodbye to Romeo triggers deep sadness in Juliet, but that sadness also reminds her of her love for him, and for this reason it is sweet. These emotions are symbolized by the heart shields on their chest. I wanted to give an impression that they were both wearing armor, and that their feelings of sorrow come from the true identity behind the mask.

I’ve Lost You
acrylic on plastic / 17 x 13 cm / 225 CHF
This piece was inspired by lyrics from Toro Y Moi’s song ‘Talamak‘. The song is about love that has been lost, yet is still felt.  This is also reflected in the acronym of ‘I’ve Lost You’ because ‘ILY’ can also stand for ‘I Love You’.

When can we get together again?
Nevermind, I’ve lost you
How can I tell if I love you anymore?
Nevermind, I know I do
~’Talamak’ by Toro Y Moi

 

Hello + Goodbye
Hello / acrylic on plastic / 11.5 x 8 cm
 / 150 CHF SOLD
Goodbye / acrylic on plastic / 11.5 x 8 cm
 / 150 CHF
We casually say Hello + Goodbye to each other everyday. But what happens when we say it to someone we love?  What if we never see them again? I thought about the anguish of that situation, and wanted to express the concept with two separate pieces.

And I’m young but it’s hard to believe

That someday I will never see you again

And you might not believe this
But you’ve changed me so much
~ ‘Hello’ by Tegan + Sara


I </3 U Always
acrylic on plastic / 11.5 x 8 cm
 / 150 CHF
The roses on this piece were inspired by traditional Sailor Jerry-esque rose tattoos, as roses symbolize love + tattoos are forever.  Roses are beautiful, yet have thorns that hurt. Tattoos are also beautiful, yet hurt to get done.  Sometimes beauty + pain go hand in hand.


Destroyer

acrylic on resin / 13 x 10 cm
 / 225 CHF SOLD
The Destroyer was brought to life with the idea that he had been electrocuted into existence. He is made from resin and sculpted by Argonaut Resins.



Boo!
acrylic on plastic / 11 x 8 cm
 / 150 CHF
Boo is a spirit of a dead cat. Read his backstory here.


Rawr

acrylic on plastic / 11 x 8 cm
 / 150 CHF SOLD
Rawr is a fiesty little fireball. Read his backstory here.

Hunter
acrylic on plastic / 11 x 8 cm
 / 150 CHF

Lucha
acrylic on plastic / 11.5 x 8 cm / 150 CHF SOLD
Lucha is inspired by Mexican Luchador wrestlers. I liked the idea of someone donning a mask and transforming into a new identity to fight.  He has horns on his mask for extra fierceness.


Two Of Spades

acrylic on plastic / 15 x 12 cm
 / 150 CHF
Two Of Spades was directly inspired by characters in the story ‘Alice In Wonderland’.  Near the end of the story Alice meets a group of card soldiers who planted the wrong coloured roses in the Queen’s garden. They frantically begin painting the roses red before the Queen Of Hearts found out, as her displeasure lead to decapitation. Read his full backstory here.

PAINTINGS


Promise Me
multi-media collage / 40 x 40 cm
 / 500 CHF
This piece was inspired by CocoRosie’s song ‘Promise’, in which Coco asks her lover: “Promise me that you’ll cherish this tarnished offering”, meaning to care for her despite her broken soul.

Odessa
multi-media collage / 30 x 30 cm / 400 CHF
Odessa + Blessa mirror each other in a before-and-after a tragic event, yet they still experience a similar extreme sorrow. Odessa is the ‘before’ girl; on the verge of entering into a painful life-changing event in which she has no idea how it will shape her in the end.

And I’ve been with you, for all of these years
Tell you what I’ve got to show for all of my tears
The times you hurt me, and treated me wrong
Something had to give to stop this thing from going on

~’Odessa‘ by Caribou

Blessa
multi-media collage / 30 x 30 cm
 / 400 CHF
Odessa + Blessa mirror each other in a before-and-after a tragic event, yet they still experience a similar extreme sorrow. Blessa is the ‘after girl’; in which she is past a painful event and trying to heal from it.

I see the wind blow into my shoes
Each crying cuts into my nerves
It’s hard to let you come on in
And let you know what I was hurt
~’Blessa‘ by Toro Y Moi

Monster 1

multi-media collage / 20 x 20 cm
 / 250 CHF

Monster 2
multi-media collage / 20 x 20 cm
 / 250 CHF SOLD

Monster 3
multi-media collage / 20 x 20 cm
 / 250 CHF

Monster 4
multi-media collage / 20 x 20 cm
 / 250 CHF

Monster 5

multi-media collage / 20 x 20 cm
 / 250 CHF

Monster 6
multi-media collage / 20 x 20 cm
 / 250 CHF

Charcoal Monster

acrylic paint / 20 x 20 cm
 / 400 CHF

Grape Monster

acrylic paint / 20 x 20 cm / 400 CHF


Cotton Candy Monster

acrylic paint / 20 x 20 cm
 / 400 CHF



Cherry Monster

acrylic paint / 20 x 20 cm / 400 CHF

Lime Monster
acrylic paint / 20 x 20 cm
 / 400 CHF


Blueberry Monster
acrylic paint / 20 x 20 cm
 / 400 CHF

PLUSH


Animus + Euphoria
felt fibre / 22 x 21 cm / 220 CHF
Animus + Euphoria represent the reality of two people uniting (as echoed by the two white rabbits on her dress). They remind us that you cannot know happiness without experiencing sadness. Read their story here.



Twee + Dee
Twee + Dee were inspired from ‘Tweedle Dee + Tweedle Dum’ from the storybook ‘Alice In Wonderland’.
felt fibre / 22 x 21 cm / 220 CHF SOLD

Alice In Wonderland
felt fibre / 22 x 10 cm / 175 CHF

Miscordia

felt fibre / 22 x 10 cm / 175 CHF



White Rabbit

felt fibre / 23 x 10 cm
 / 175 CHF


Sweet + Toxic
 Deer
felt fibre / 22 x 14 cm
 / 220 CHF
Sweet + Toxic are conjoined deer twins.  Sweet has three pink hearts on her side, while Toxic has a broken black heart on his side.  They follow their hearts with full force, which means their intense love brings them both the most sweetest joy and the most toxic pain. Read their backstory here.


Pink Grapefruit Deer (left) / 
felt fibre / 21 x 10 cm
 / 175 CHF SOLD
Fraise La Creme Deer
 (right) / felt fibre / 21 x 10 cm / 175 CHF

Vanilla Deer (left) / fibre / 21 x 10 cm / 175 CHF

Lime Soda Deer (right) / 
felt fibre / 21 x 10 cm
 / 175 CHF SOLD

Blue Bubblegum Deer (left) / 
felt fibre / 21 x 10 cm
 / 175 CHF

Grape Tangerine Deer
 (right) / felt fibre / 21 x 10 cm / 175 CHF


SCULPTURE

Sock Fairy

polymer clay, acrylic paint, plastic fibre, wire, bead / 10 x 15 cm
 / 350 CHF
The Sock Fairy is the only piece in the show that I sculpted myself. I got the idea for The Sock Fairy when my socks kept going missing in the dryer. I thought it would be fun to imagine a fairy who hangs around the dryer waiting to steal people’s socks and wear them herself! I really enjoyed making a 3D sculpture from something I had sketched on paper.


PRINTS

Geisha

A beautiful woman patiently waits in stillness without asking for a single thing.
limited edition print of 10 / printed on Hahnemühle paper / 40 x 30 cm / 200 CHF (+ 50 CHF with frame)


2 thoughts on “Art Show: Fantastic Heroes – pieces by Emily Bee

  1. Emily, your stuff is so fab. I love the sock fairy, in particular. The theme of sorrow/sweetness really covers alot of ground in relationaships for me…so thank you for visually articulating that.
    Really blew my mind.

    Urs

Leave a Reply

