Photos: Candid Shots From The Underground

I commute to work everyday on London’s Underground, (which I’ve learned is over 100 years old!). There are so many interesting people on the tube so I started taking photos of them. Okay, I feel like a total creeper taking candid pics of people, BUT I find them to be the most interesting subject matter out there because you never know what you’re going to get! Everyone has their own story — they’re all coming and going from different locations and share time on the tube with complete strangers for an average of (I would guess) 1.5hrs a day. On average there are over 75,000 commuters a day, and its amazingly clean considering there are NO garbage bins anywhere on London Underground property! I generally tend to avoid taking pics of people because I feel awkward putting them on the spot (I guess I imagine myself being photographed + feel nervous). But taking candid pics with the iPhone is so easy as it’s not obvious at all, so everyone remains in natural poses. One thing I’ve found very interesting is that people tend to build up a bubble around themselves to stay within their own personal space. They do so by playing games on their phone, listening to music, reading the newspaper, or reading someone else’s newspaper. I like when friends sit together as they create a ‘bubble’ together. Everyday I look forward to new photo ops on my way to + from work. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Photos: Candid Shots From The Underground

  1. These photos are so fascinating as they are loaded with story and emotion and raw, urban life. I would LOVE to see these in an exhibition as you have captured a time and a place and from the point of view of the observer.
    Fantastic work! I love the altered colours too and the fading as it gives them all a dream=-like or unreal quality.
    Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. What a candid human (and slightly voyeuristic) moment. They’re a bit like when you come across a box of someone’s old family photos from the ’70’s at a yard sale and they’re totally out of context to you…but still just as fascinating. Beautifully edited too.

Leave a Reply

