Plush Art Show: Stitch Wars (Princess Leia & R2D2)

In a galaxy far, far away… plushies were created of Princess Leia and R2D2! 🙂

These are my plushies for Stitch Wars, a Star Wars inspired plush art show at Bear + Bird Gallery + Boutique in Lauderhill, Florida.  The show runs from July 18th – August 29th.  The pieces will be available for sale at the opening and online.  If you sign up on their mailing list you’ll get a preview of the show before anyone else does!

I LOVE Princess Leia’s hair buns (who doesn’t!), and simplistic design, so I really wanted to make my own version of her.  After I made her I knew she needed a little R2D2 sidekick buddy.  I did a lot of handstitched work on him, and I think the buttons look really cute.

Star Wars is such a pop culture phenomenon with a HUGE cast of very unique characters, so I had quite a lot of inspiration when I was brainstorming what kind of plushies to make for Stitch Wars. I decided to stick with the original Star Wars trilogy because (to put it quite bluntly…) I’m not a fan of the new Star Wars movies at all.  😛  I do like some of the designs in the new movies (pretty much anything by incredibly talented conceptual artist Iain McCaig), and I like the 2D animated “Star Wars: Clone Wars” (where we are introduced to the super cool Sith Asajj Ventress) directed by Genndy Tartakovsky (creator/writer/director of “Dexter’s Laboratory” and “Samurai Jack”), but I much prefer the original classics.  (Puppet Yoda is 1,000 times better than CG Yoda!)

When Leia & R2D2 are together, they remind me of the famous scene in “Star Wars IV: A New Hope” when we see Leia entrusting a secret message for R2D2 to give to Jedi master Obi-Wan Kenobi.  Well, I think it’s time to pop in a Star Wars DVD! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Plush Art Show: Stitch Wars (Princess Leia & R2D2)

  1. These are awesome! I would love to buy these. I tried the links but ended up with network errors. Can I buy them directly from you?
    Thanks
    James

    • Thanks for your interest, James! 🙂 Princess Leia & R2D2 will be available for sale online this weekend when the Stitch Wars show opens (This link should work —> http://www.tatescomics.com/stitchwars/ ). If you miss the online purchase, I can do a custom order for you. Contact me at: violet_peppermint[at]yahoo.com if interested. 🙂
      Thanks again! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Plush Art Show: Stitch Wars > online shop is live! « Follow The White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

